Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday night, I hopped on the metro and headed to Queens for my Turkish cooking class.  It dawned on me that besides the airport, my only adventure to Queens was for some Bolivian saltenas with Giovanna this summer.  I’m definitely going to have to do some more discovery …

Maria, Tashi, and I walked up the stairs to the Turkish Cultural Center not really sure what we were getting ourselves into, but there, out of gourmandise :)  We were greeted right away by Sila, the charming and charismatic cooking teacher … and my new favorite  Turk!  [Arzu, don’t worry nobody can replace you!]

The class was excellent!  It exceeded my expectations and I definitely recommend it to anyone in the New York City area who loves to cook or just loves Turkish food.  The recipes were classic yet simple, and most importantly YUMMY!  We learned how to make Yogurtlu Havuc, Ali Nazik, and Shekerpare (the links aren’t the exact recipes I learned, but figured if anyone was interested these would be a start).

I walked away from the class with a secret desire for a kozmatik (a special Turkish cooking grill), three new yummy recipes, and some hot pepper (Sila obviously knew the way to my heart).  I can’t wait to go back next month … soon I can add Turkish cooking to my repertoire.

